Register Online

Read the Latest News

Pubs Plus

Contact Us

University of Illinois Extension serving Gallatin, Hamilton, Hardin, Pope, Saline and White Counties

Main Office (Saline County)
912 S Commercial Street
Suite 4
Harrisburg, IL 62946
Phone: 618-252-8391
FAX: 618-253-3006
Hours: Monday - Friday 8 am to 4:30 pm

Branch Office (Gallatin County)
216 S. Murphy
Ridgway, IL 62979
Phone: 618-272-3022
FAX: 618-272-3024

Branch Office (Hamilton County)
100 S. Jackson
Courthouse Basement
McLeansboro, IL 62859
Phone: 618-643-3416
FAX: 618-643-3206
Hours: Monday - Friday 8 am to 4:30 pm (Closed 12 - 1pm)

Branch Office (Hardin & Pope County)
Dixon Springs Agricultural Center
354 State Hwy 145 North
Simpson, IL 62985
Phone: 618-695-6060
FAX: 618-695-2492

Main Office (White County)
1715 College Avenue
Carmi, IL 62821
Phone: 618-382-2662
FAX: 618-382-2276
Hours: Monday - Friday 8 am to 4:30 pm (Closed 12 - 1pm)


Thank you for visiting our website! The University of Illinois Extension Gallatin/Hamilton/Hardin/Pope/Saline/White County Unit is the link between University of Illinois and all of our friends and neighbors in the six county area. The Extension Office offers practical, research-based information to improve lives and communities through learning partnerships that put knowledge to work. Please contact us at 618-252-8391, 618-382-2662, 618-272-3022, 618-643-3416, or 618-695-6060, with questions or to learn more about these educational or leadership opportunities. We also encourage you to add our site to your favorites list. Have a great day!

Today's Features

Do you like playing in the dirt and being outdoors? Have you ever wondered how salsa and pickles are made? If you answered yes to any of these questions we have the perfect opportunity for you! All aspects of gardening will be covered when the University of Illinois Extension in Hamilton County offers summer classes to youth five and older. Click on the link below for more information or call the office at 618-643-3416.

Learn more >>

On Friday May 8, 2015 the Illinois Bureau of Animal Health and Welfare was notified that two reining horses stabled in Northeast Illinois tested positive for Equine Herpes Virus 1 (EHV-1). The neighboring states of Michigan and Iowa have also reported outbreaks of EHV-1 recently. (Check the Illinois Dept of Ag website to stay up-to-date on EHV in Illinois. )

Learn more >>

AVIAN INFLUENZA – Information for small flocks and backyard poultry - Unfortunately, bird flu is in the news again and it's a serious concern for all poultry owners in the Mississippi Flyway, which includes Illinois. Click below for some great places to find reliable information.

Learn more >>

2015 SOUTHERN ILLINOIS SUMMER TWILIGHT SERIES - Join us for our 2nd Southern Illinois Summer Twilight Meeting at Ridge Road Vineyard. Darrell Thurston will be sharing his experiences in establishing and producing blackberries and wine grapes. Topics of discussion: Wine grape production, blackberry production, in-field harvest and packing of blackberries, marketing to farmer's markets and wholesale outlets. The program is FREE but pre-registration is required by June 12. For more information please contact Bronwyn Aly at or call 618-382-2662 or Nathan Johanning at or call 618-687-1727.

Learn more >>

Unit #24 Extension Council 2014-2016: Mr. Clint Ragan, Hamilton Co. - Chairman; Ms. Nancy Evans, Saline Co. - Vice Chairman; Ms. Glenna Maxwell, Hamilton Co. - Secretary; Mr. John McKinney, White Co. - Financial Reporter; Ms. Judy Jones, Gallatin Co.; Ms. Phyllis Mace, Gallatin Co.; Ms. Becky Mitchell, Gallatin Co.; Mr. Chad Payne, Hamilton Co.; Ms. Jill Cowsert, Hardin Co.; Ms. Monica Daily, Hardin Co.; Ms. Janetta Flener, Hardin Co.; Mr. Bob Geick, Pope Co.; Ms. Linda Meherg, Pope Co.; Ms. Elaine Bramlet, Saline Co.; Ms. Lori Cox, Saline Co.; Ms. Linda Watkins, Saline Co.; Ms. Valerie Berekashvilli, White Co.; Mr. Charles Nolan, White Co.

Consumer & Economic Development

Several community committees and organizations collaborate to enhance economic and community development in Gallatin, Hamilton, Hardin, Pope, Saline, and White Counties.

Efforts include REDI (Regional Economic Development Initiative) sponsored by Southeastern Illinois College, Area Main Street Programs and Illinois Delta Network Grants for Health Care. Programs are also coordinated with the Small Business Development Center of SIC, Southeastern IL Regional Development & Planning Commission, IL Department of Commerce & Economic Development.

University of Illinois Extension provides equal opportunities in programs and employment. If you need a reasonable accommodation to participate in any of these programs, please contact your local University of Illinois Extension.

Questions? Contact Susan Odum, Extension Educator, Community and Economic Development at

Information and Resources for You

4-H Youth Development Commercial Agriculture Community and Economic Development Family Life Horticulture Local Food Systems and Small Farms Nutrition and Wellness Schools Online

Extension Meetings

Hamilton Co 4-H Practice Horse Show
Tuesday May 26, 2015 • 6:00 PM
4-H Day with the Miners
Saturday May 30, 2015 • 6:05 PM
Hamilton Co 4-H Federation Meeting
Wednesday June 10, 2015 • 8:30 AM
Hamilton Co 4-H Fair Clean Up
Monday June 29, 2015 • 9:00 AM
Hamilton Co 4-H Dog, Cat, Small Pet Show
Tuesday June 30, 2015 • 2:00 PM
Hamilton Co 4-H Poultry & Rabbit Show
Wednesday July 1, 2015 • 9:00 AM
Hamilton Co 4-H Livestock Weigh-In
Wednesday July 1, 2015 • 4:00 PM
Hamilton Co 4-H Livestock Show
Thursday July 2, 2015 • 7:00 AM
Hamilton Co 4-H Livestock Auction
Thursday July 2, 2015 • 3:00 PM
Hamilton Co 4-H Tractor Rodeo
Saturday July 4, 2015 • 11:00 AM
Hamilton Co 4-H General Projects Show
Monday July 6, 2015 • 8:30 AM
Hamilton Co 4-H Foundation Pork Chop Dinner
Tuesday July 7, 2015 • 4:00 PM
Hamilton Co 4-H Horse Show
Wednesday July 8, 2015 • 9:00 AM
Unit 24 Extension Council Meeting
Tuesday August 4, 2015 • 6:00 PM
4-H Day at Illinois State Fair
Sunday August 16, 2015 • 8:00 AM

View All Meetings »