Contact Us

University of Illinois Extension serving Bond, Clinton, Jefferson, Marion and Washington Counties

Main Office (Marion County)
1404 E Main
Rt 50 East
Salem, IL 62881
Phone: 618-548-1446
FAX: 618-548-9891

Branch Office (Bond County)
925 E. Harris
Greenville, IL 62246
Phone: 618-664-3665
FAX: 618-664-9277
Hours: Monday-Thursday 8:00am to 4:30pm

Branch Office (Clinton County)
1163 N. Fourth Street
Breese, IL 62230
Phone: 618-526-4551
FAX: 618-526-4597
Hours: Monday-Friday 8:00am to 4:30pm

Branch Office (Jefferson County)
4618 Broadway
Mt. Vernon, IL 62864
Phone: 618-242-0780
FAX: 618-242-0781
Hours: Monday-Friday 8:00am-12:00pm and 1:00pm-4:00pm

Branch Office (Washington County)
9623 Wall Street
Nashville, IL 62263
Phone: 618-327-8881
FAX: 618-327-8882
Hours: Monday-Friday 8:00am to 4:30pm

News Release

Members from Bond, Clinton and Marion County place at Dairy Judging

A Stephenson County 4-H member edged out 38 other competitors to win the 2017 Illinois 4-H Dairy Judging Contest held Aug. 19 during the Illinois State Fair in Springfield. Jared Dickman will also represent Illinois as it competes in the National 4-H Dairy Judging Contest in October in Wisconsin.

 The win means more than just winning a contest. It’s important for young dairy breeders to understand the functional traits associated with high milk production over a long, trouble-free productive life of a cow, said Dave Fischer, University of Illinois 4-H dairy coordinator. A win in the contest could translate into potential profit in an Illinois dairy herd.

 Other top ten finishers in the 14 and older division of state contest were Payton Erbsen of Carroll County, second; Connor Erbsen of Carroll County, third; Dylan Houzenga of Carroll County, fourth; Dawn Irwin of Logan County, fifth; Lauren Robison of Bond County, sixth; Taylor Huels of Bond County, seventh; Grace Koester of Randolph County, eighth; Brady Heinzmann of Marion County, ninth; and Briley Lenkaitis of Saline County, tenth.

 Joining Dickman on the state dairy judging team which will compete at the national contest are Connor Erbsen, Irwin, and Robison. First alternate is Payton Erbsen; and second alternate is Huels. The team is supported in the national contest by the Illinois 4-H Foundation.

 The top five finishers in the 13 and under age category were Megan Busker of Stephenson County, first; Jacob Raber of Livingston County, second; Delana Erbsen of Carroll County, third; Joseph Tegeler of Effingham County, fourth; and Shana Lueking of Clinton County, fifth.


Source: Judy Mae Bingman, Media Communications Specialist, 4-H,

Local Contact: Elizabeth Miller, Extension Educator, Youth Development,