Contact Us

University of Illinois Extension serving Bureau, LaSalle, Marshall and Putnam Counties

LaSalle County
815 North Orlando Smith Road
Room C223
Oglesby, IL 61348
Phone: 815- 224-0889
Hours: Monday-Friday 8:00am to 4:30pm (Closed 12 - 1pm)

Bureau County
850 Thompson St,
Becker Professional Suites,
Princeton, IL 61356
Phone: 815-875-2878
FAX: 815-875-2870
Hours: Monday-Friday 8:00am to 4:30pm (Closed 12 - 1pm)

LaSalle County
1689 North 31st Road,
Suite 2
Ottawa, IL 61350
Phone: 815-433-0707
FAX: 815-433-5454
Hours: Monday-Friday 8:00am to 4:30pm (Closed 12 - 1pm)

Marshall-Putnam County
509 Front Street,
Suite 4
Henry, IL 61537
Phone: 309-364-2356
FAX: 309-364-2804
Hours: Monday-Friday 8:00am to 4:30pm (Closed 12 - 1pm)

News Release

Accent photo

Mastering Robot Intelligence

Mastering Robot Intelligence.

 University of Illinois Extension, LaSalle County 4-H program is proud of the accomplishment of Team Machination #6994, 4-H Advanced Robotics Club, who recently competed at the Illinois FIRST Tech Challenge Regional Robotics competition held at the Manual Academy in Peoria.

The team won the Control Award, held on to their 2nd placing position statewide and will move on to the next level of competition.

The Control Award celebrates a team that uses sensors and software to increase the robot’s functionality on the field. This award is given to the team that demonstrates innovative thinking in the control system to solve game challenges such as autonomous operation, improving mechanical systems with intelligent control, and using sensors to achieve better results on the field. The control component should work consistently on the field.

In order to win the Control Award, the team must show respect and gracious professionalism to everyone they meet at a FIRST Tech Challenge event. They must also apply for the Control Award by filling out the Control Award Content Sheet and submitting an Engineering Notebook. The Engineering Notebook contains details about the implementation of the software, sensors, and mechanical control and includes an Engineering section that documents the control components, which enhance the functionality of the robot on the playing field.

The Control Award is different from other awards because teams must apply for this award. A team applying for this Award must turn in their Control Award Content Sheet to the Judges at the event. This award focuses on a team’s ability to program a robot that can reliably and efficiently carry out tasks during match play in a way that improves their ability to score during a match. A team can submit their code for autonomous operation as well as their code for the driver controlled operation, if they choose.

Judges will reference the sections of the Engineering Notebook the team has pointed out on the Control Award Content Sheet. The judges look for the following: what sensors and hardware the team has tried on the robot, what algorithm or code the team has programmed their robot with and what worked, what didn’t and why.

LaSalle County 4-H is proud that Team Machination has achieved this award and has earned a place to compete at the next Illinois FIRST Tech Challenge Regional Robotics competition held in Elgin, IL on March 3.


If you are interested in Robotics and the opportunities 4-H can provide, call Toni Pienta, 4-H and Youth Development Coordinator, at the U of I Extension, LaSalle County office, 815-433-0707.


If you need a reasonable accommodation to participate please contact 815-433-0707.  

University of Illinois Extension provides equal opportunities in programs and employment.


The Mission of University of Illinois Extension is to provide practical education you can trust to help people, businesses and communities solve problems, develop skills and build a better future. Visit our website at

If you have questions or need more information please call University of Illinois Extension, Bureau-LaSalle-Marshall-Putnam Unit at 815-433-0707.  Extension offices are located in Princeton, Ottawa, Henry and in Oglesby on the IVCC campus.



University of Illinois ·  U.S. Department of Agriculture · Local Extension Councils Cooperating.