Contact Us

University of Illinois Extension serving Carroll, Lee and Whiteside Counties

Whiteside County
12923 Lawrence Road
Sterling, IL 61081
Phone: 815-632-3611
FAX: 815-716-8922

Carroll County
807D S Clay St
Mt. Carroll, IL 61053
Phone: 815-244-9444
FAX: 815-244-3708

Lee County
280 W Wasson Rd
Amboy, IL 61310
Phone: 815-857-3525
FAX: 815-857-3527

News Release

Connor Erbsen, Lanark Competes at National Dairy Judging Contest


       The 2017 National 4-H Dairy Cattle Judging Contest, held at the World Dairy Expo in Madison, WI, was another memorable event for Illinois 4-H’ers.  The Illinois 4-H dairy judging team placed 6th high team overall in a very strong contest among 22 states.  Illinois team members included:  Jared Dickman, Lanark; Connor Erbsen, Lanark; Dawn Irwin, Beason; and Lauren Robison, Mulberry Grove, Illinois.

       Dawn Irwin placed 1st top individual in the Guernsey breed among 86 contestants and placed 2nd top individual in the Ayrshire breed.  Furthermore, in the “top 20” individuals by breed, Connor Erbsen was 5th in Holsteins, 11th in Brown Swiss; Jared Dickman placed 7th in Holsteins and 19th in Ayrshires; and Lauren Robison placed 18th in the Brown Swiss and 20th in the Ayrshire breed.

            Connor Erbsen placed 13th high individual overall and Dawn Irwin placed 18th overall which awarded both team members the “All-American” plaque designation.

On a “top 10” team basis by breed, Illinois placed 3rd in Ayrshires, 3rd in Guernsey and 5th in Holsteins.  The Illinois 4-H team was sponsored by the Illinois 4-H Foundation and River Valley Dairy of Tremont.  In addition, the team jackets were sponsored by The Equity, Effingham, Illinois.  The team was coached by Dave Fischer, University of Illinois Extension    4-H Dairy Program Coordinator. 

Local Contact: Leanne Rahn, Program Coordinator, Carroll 4-H,