Contact Us

University of Illinois Extension serving Jo Daviess, Stephenson and Winnebago Counties

Stephenson County
Highland Community College, Bldg R
2998 W Pearl City Rd
Freeport, IL 61032
Phone: 815-235-4125
FAX: 815-232-9006
Hours: Monday - Friday 8 am to 4:30 pm

Jo Daviess County
204 Vine, PO Box 600
Elizabeth, IL 61028
Phone: 815-858-2273
FAX: 815-858-2274

SNAP Ed Office
650 North Main St
Rockford, IL 61103
Phone: 779-423-0982

Winnebago County
1040 North Second Street
Rockford, IL 61107
Phone: 815-986-4357
FAX: 815-986-4329

News Release


Brian Lyons recognized for service to 4-H

A Winnebago County volunteer was honored for his service as a 4-H volunteer. Brian Lyons of Rockford was one of 67 volunteers recognized by the Illinois 4-H Foundation as a 4-H Hall of Fame recipient during a ceremony Saturday, Aug. 14, 2018 at the Illinois State Fair in Springfield.

“Brian has been involved with the Winnebago County 4-H program for over 20 years serving as Treasurer of the 4-H Showboard committee and also helping out at the livestock auction and fair each year,” states Stacy Cwiklo, 4-H program coordinator for Winnebago County. “Brian and his whole family have been such strong supporters of the 4-H program, we truly appreciate them.” Cwiklo will also be honoring Lyons at the county’s upcoming 4-H Recognition Event in November.

This year celebrated the 14-year anniversary of the award, said Angie Barnard, Illinois 4-H Foundation executive director.

“These long-time volunteers fully embody what 4-H strives to instill in youth,” Barnard said. “They are caring, dedicated, generous leaders, and the Illinois 4-H Foundation is extremely proud to be able to provide this honor to each and every one of them to thank them for their service to this wonderful organization.”

The Illinois 4-H Foundation established the statewide Hall of Fame in 2004 to honor and celebrate extraordinary 4-H alumni, volunteers, and former 4-H staff. Each inductee received a commemorative Hall of Fame medallion.

“As a result of these volunteers’ years of service and leadership to Illinois 4-H,” Barnard said, “the program they love will continue to create wonderful opportunities for the young people whose lives it touches.”

 Those honored locally include Robin Kindberg, Boone County; John Boesche, DeKalb County; Marvin Schnitzler, Jo Daviess County; Nancy Etnyre, Ogle County, Pat Yeagle, Stephenson County; and Brian Lyons of Winnebago County.

 About 4-H: Illinois 4-H empowers and prepares Illinois youth for success. University of Illinois Extension provides 4-H programs in every county in Illinois, affecting the lives of 200,000 youth each year through sustained learning clubs, groups and short-term programming.

To learn more about your local 4-H program, visit:, or call (815) 986-4357.

Source: Margaret Larson, County Director,

Local Contact: Stacy Cwiklo, Program Coordinator, 4-H Youth Development (Winnebago County),