$9,000 in scholarships awarded to 4-H members - U of I Extension

News Release

$9,000 in scholarships awarded to 4-H members

This article was originally published on October 26, 2017 and expired on January 1, 2018. It is provided here for archival purposes and may contain dated information.

Nine teens were awarded $1,000 scholarships based on their achievements in the Illinois 4-H program. The Illinois 4-H Foundation presented the Legacy of Leadership scholarships to 4-H members who have demonstrated and maintained a high standard of 4-H excellence and mastery during their membership tenure. The scholarships were presented in a ceremony held Saturday, Oct. 7 in Champaign.

Winners included Adrian Austin of Marion County, Natalie Carlson of Ogle County, Alex Hartke of Effingham County, Taylor Hartke of Effingham County, Katlyn Helton of Logan County, Rachel Miller of Franklin County, Johnathan Prose of Ogle County, and Kaley Rouse of Stark County.

In addition, Julia Taraszewski of Macon County was presented a $1,000 scholarship for her excellence in the livestock project area. Her scholarship is provided by LA-CO Industries.

“Through their words and actions, the 4-H members honored with the Legacy of Leadership and Livestock scholarships have taken their personal leadership skills to the next level by elevating others around them,” said Debra Stocker, University of Illinois Extension 4-H youth development specialist.

The scholarships are provided by the Illinois 4-H Foundation through gifts received by the following donors: Legacy of Leadership Endowment, Farm Credit Illinois, Nannette Armstrong, Patricia Clickener, Lila Jeanne Eichelberger, Nellie R. McCannon Trust, Keith Parr, and LA-CO Industries.

“Our awardees embody the true spirit of 4-H, having made a difference not only in their communities, but also Illinois and the nation,” said Lisa Diaz, U of I Extension assistant dean and director of Illinois 4-H. “As we look ahead to the future, we are proud of the dedication, service , and fortitude of the young men and women who have developed through our 4-H programs.”

Presenting the scholarships on behalf of the Foundation were Board Members Karl Barnhardt and Barbara Clark. Donors present included Nannette Armstrong and Lila Jeanne Eichelberger.

One may help support 4-H scholarships by donating to the Illinois 4-H Foundation, 801 N. Country Fair Drive, Suite E, Champaign, IL 61821.

Source: Judy Mae Bingman, Media Communications Specialist, 4-H, jmbingma@illinois.edu

Pull date: January 1, 2018