Webinar: Opportunity Zones - U of I Extension

News Release

Webinar: Opportunity Zones

This article was originally published on June 29, 2018 and expired on July 25, 2018. It is provided here for archival purposes and may contain dated information.

URBANA, Ill. - University of Illinois Extension’s Community and Economic Development team will co-host Catherine Lyons (Manager of Policy and Coalitions, Economic Innovation Group) and David Cervantes (Research and Policy Fellow, Economic Innovation Group) for a free Local Government Education webinar, Opportunity Zones on Wednesday, July 25, 2018, from 10AM – 11AM CST. Co-hosts for the event include the Southeastern Alliance of Illinois and the Richland County Development Corporation.


The Opportunity Zones program is a new economic development program established by Congress in the Tax Cuts and Job Act of 2017.  This widely-supported program encourages long-term investment and job creation in low-income urban and rural communities, by allowing investors to re-invest unrealized capital gains in designated Opportunity Zones. 


Catherine serves as EIG's Manager of Policy and Coalitions. Prior to joining EIG, she was Southern California Director for FWD.us, a bipartisan advocacy organization focused on immigration reform. Prior to that, she led the housing and community development policy work for the Bay Area Council in the San Francisco Bay Area. She served as an AmeriCorps member in New Orleans after graduating magna cum laude from the University of Southern California with a dual degree in print journalism and international relations. She recently received her Master of Public Policy from Georgetown University's McCourt School of Public Policy, during which she interned at the DC Department of Small and Local Business Development and the U.S. Senate Committee on the Budget.

David Cervantes contributes to EIG’s economic research and policy portfolios. David has diverse experience in economic development and finance, focused on creating and promoting economic opportunity through SME finance and capacity building. His experience ranges from impact assessment at an impact investment firm, to designing, implementing, monitoring, and evaluating development projects in the non-profit and public sectors. Prior to joining EIG, David served as Evaluation & Outreach Manager for the State Small Business Credit Initiative at the U.S. Department of the Treasury. In that role, he managed outreach and oversight of state credit support, lending, and equity investment programs across the country, and was responsible for data collection, program evaluation, and reporting for the initiative. David has also worked as an investment and impact analyst for an impact investment firm, as well as a program analyst in the Business & Economics Department of the Peres Center for Peace. David obtained his Master’s Degree in Economics and Finance from Johns Hopkins University.


The webinar will cover an overview of the Opportunity Zones program, explaining what it is and what it is not, how the program works, and what Opportunity Funds are allowed to invest in. 


REGISTRATION is required.  For more information, contact Ken Larimore at larimore@illinois.edu

Source: Nancy Ouedraogo, Extension Specialist, Community Economic Development, esarey@illinois.edu

Pull date: July 25, 2018