Contact Us

University of Illinois Extension serving Bureau, LaSalle, Marshall and Putnam Counties

LaSalle County
815 North Orlando Smith Road
Room C223
Oglesby, IL 61348
Phone: 815- 224-0889
Hours: Monday-Friday 8:00am to 4:30pm (Closed 12 - 1pm)

Bureau County
850 Thompson St,
Becker Professional Suites,
Princeton, IL 61356
Phone: 815-875-2878
FAX: 815-875-2870
Hours: Monday-Friday 8:00am to 4:30pm (Closed 12 - 1pm)

LaSalle County
1689 North 31st Road,
Suite 2
Ottawa, IL 61350
Phone: 815-433-0707
FAX: 815-433-5454
Hours: Monday-Friday 8:00am to 4:30pm (Closed 12 - 1pm)

Marshall-Putnam County
509 Front Street,
Suite 4
Henry, IL 61537
Phone: 309-364-2356
FAX: 309-364-2804
Hours: Monday-Friday 8:00am to 4:30pm (Closed 12 - 1pm)

Extension Meetings

Multi-County Unit Council Meeting Minutes - 9/23/14

Wednesday December 10, 2014 • 5:30 PM

This meeting has passed.

Multi-County Unit Council Meeting Minutes

September 23, 2014, 5:30 p.m. at IVCC Meeting Room CTC 124

The September 23rd, 2014 meeting of the Bureau, LaSalle, Marshall, Putnam Extension Multi-County Unit Council was called to order by Kevin Kunkel. Introductions of new council members and guests were made.

Council Members in attendance were: Greg Steele, Dennis Bogner, Steve Wilson, Sandra Woest, Judy Wright, Mark Schultz, Mardel Robinson, Steve Tuftie, Mary Ann Johnson, Gus Rinker and Mary Jane Spinazola. Those also in attendance were: Jill Guynn, Dr. Jerry Corcoran, President of IVCC and Kevin Kunkel, out-going Council President.

A light dinner was served and then a tour of the new Peter Miller Community Technology Center and new Extension office was provided by Dr. Corcoran.

The election of Multi-County Unit Council Officers was conducted by Kevin Kunkel as follows:

Greg Steele was nominated by Gus Rinker for President. Mardel Robinson seconded the motion. Mary Ann Johnson made a motion to close nominations and Mardel Robinson seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Chris Dvorak was nominated by Mark Schultz for Vice President. Mardel Robinson seconded that motion. Mary Ann Johnson made a motion to close nominations and Greg Steele seconded that motion. Motion carried.

Mardel Robinson was nominated by Mary Jane Spinazola for Secretary. Steve Wilson seconded the motion. Steve Tuftie made a motion to close nominations and Sandra Woest seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Mary Jane Spinazola was nominated by Steve Tuftie for Treasurer. Steve Wilson seconded the motion. Mary Ann Johnson moved to close the nominations and Judy Wright seconded the motion. Motion carried.

County Extension Board Representatives were approved as follows:

· Bureau County: Unit Council: Greg Steele, Judy Wright

County Board: Marshann Entwhistle, Kristi Warren, Marsha Lilley

· LaSalle County: Unit Council: Mary Jane Spinazola, Gus Rinker

County Board: Arratta Znaniecki, Steve Tuftie

· Marshall County: Unit Council: Denny Bogner, John Ehrnthaller

County Board: Mike Durham, Bob Bakewell

· Putnam County: Unit Council: Sandra Woest, Steve Wilson

County Board: Duane Calbow, Chauntelle Biagi-Bruer

Motion to close nominations on Council Members and Representatives of the County Extension Boards was made by Steve Tuftie and seconded by Sandy Woest. Motion carried.

Judy Wright moved to accept the minutes of the last meeting, Mardel Robinson seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Greg Steele made a motion to accept the Treasurer's report and Gus Rinker seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Jill provided a report on the Marshall County Board Budget process. All information requested was given to the Finance Committee by August 27th. Staff presented program and budget information in person on September 4th. Additional program budget information was sent to follow up on questions. The Board was pleased with the programming. Decision on funding to take place in October.

The Bureau County Farmers Market/Farm Bureau's request to share a staff person for the Farmers Market was discussed. The Council agreed to provide educational support as we can by educators and staff. Due to requirements and limitations of Illinois Civil Service positions that Extension must adhere to, it is not feasible for either group to share a staff member.

The south end of the LaSalle County Extension Office building is available for rent since the USDA Rural Development is ending its lease. The number of staff went from 9 to 3 so the extra space is not needed. Please let others know about this rental opportunity.

In & Out Account check signatures were approved as follows:

· Bureau: Jill Guynn, Greg Steele, Francis Morse & Cyndi Olson

· LaSalle: Mary Jane Spinazola, Gus Rinker & Jill Guynn

· Marshall-Putnam: Jill Guynn, Mary Ann Magnuson & Kevin Kunkel

Motion by Sandy Woest, seconded by Steve Tuftie, motion carried.

Sandy Woest made a motion to have a display at the Ag Expo in Bureau County. Mary Ann Johnson seconded the motion. Motion carried.


New Developments:

· Extension Educator Small Farms & Local Foods (Grant McCarty of Unit #1) is working with Jill and faculty at IVCC to offer a vegetable production class for students and the public.

· Illinois Pathways Marketing & Fund Development, which was added to Bureau County's budget is underway to support new 4-H Youth Development and STEM and career development programming.

· Breanne is working with Princeton High School to provide new programming.

· Jill is working with Bureau County partners on the second Lady Landowners Program and a joint leasing program.

· Free Webinar Series to be taught to the young adults and college students on a variety of money management topics.

· University of Illinois Extension received the Ag In The Classroom Grant for Marshall-Putnam Counties in the amount of $7801.86 for 2014/2015. Julie Read, AITC Community Worker, provided a program report handout to update the Council.

· The Steering Committee for Regional Economic Development Council headed by the IV Chamber of Commerce is moving forward with developing a Board and funding by private and public sectors.

· The Extension Annual Plan of Work was reviewed and approved as follows: Protecting and Appreciating the Environment, Positive Youth Development, Healthy Living and Workforce Preparation.

Dennis Bogner made a motion to move forward with these programs and Gus Rinker seconded the motion. Motion carried.


DePue and Mendota 4-H Latino outreach program will begin this fall. A State grant will fund this program which provides for 2 part time Extra-Help staff, one in each community to work with Hispanic audiences to develop 4-H opportunities in the communities.

SNAP-Ed Special Projects Grant was awarded to our unit to expand our programming to at-risk audiences. This will fund a new Community Worker, full-time position, in Bureau County, to conduct the program.

Marketing will be done to promote and celebrate National 4-H Week which is October 5-11, 2014.


Two Unit Educator positions need to be filled. Discussion on these options began in June. The Council broke into groups to review materials and talk about needs for the Unit and communities. This discussion will be continued with a vote at the December meeting. The council did not want to set up a committee on this topic.


There will be an Open House at the college for our new office location and to celebrate our 100th Anniversary to be arranged by Jill. Dates will be determined by when our State and Regional Directors can attend.

Staffing updates were discussed and our next Council meeting will be at IVCC on December 10th at 5:30 p.m. The new Council members did not want to set up an orientation meeting in October.

Gus Rinker moved to adjourn the meeting and Steve Tuftie seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Submitted by Mary Jane Spinazola.