Contact Us

University of Illinois Extension serving Fulton, Mason, Peoria and Tazewell Counties

Tazewell County
1505 Valle Vista Blvd
Pekin, IL 61554-6245
Phone: 309-347-6614
FAX: 309-347-5472
Hours: Monday-Friday 8 am to 4:30 pm (Closed Noon - 1 pm)

Fulton County
15411 N IL 100 Highway
Lewistown, IL 61542-9468
Phone: 309-547-3711
FAX: 309-547-3713
Hours: Monday-Friday 8 am to 4:30 pm (Closed Noon - 1 pm)

Mason County
127 S High St, Ste 1
Havana, IL 62644-1496
Phone: 309-543-3308
Hours: Monday-Friday 8 am to 4:30 pm (Closed Noon - 1 pm)

Peoria County
4810 North Sheridan Rd
Peoria, IL 61614-5928
Phone: 309-685-3140
FAX: 309-685-3397
Hours: Monday-Friday 8 am to 4:30 pm (Closed Noon - 1 pm)

Extension Meetings

Extension Council Meeting Miinutes 09/24/12

Monday September 24, 2012 • 6:30 PM

This meeting has passed.

Extension Council Meeting, Sept. 24, 2012, 6:30 p.m. at Fulton County Extension Office, 15411 N IL 100 Hwy, Lewistown, IL 61542.

University of Illinois Extension

Unit 11 - Fulton-Mason-Peoria-Tazewell

Extension Council Meeting Minutes

Monday, September 24, 2012

The September meeting of the University of Illinois Fulton-Mason-Peoria-Tazewell Extension Council was called to order on Monday, September 24 at 6:30 p.m. in Lewistown, IL by Council Chairman, Nick Hayward. Members in attendance were Sharon Spangler, Anne Sherbeyn, Mike Endress, Andy Keyt, Nancy Glick, Debbie Yetter, Glenn Knott, Karla Smith, and Nick Hayward. Ryan Voorhees attended via Facetime. Extension staff present were County Director, Earl Allen, Kathie Brown, Margaret Cover, Judy Schmidt, Mekenzie Lewis, Rhonda Ferree and Matt Montgomery.

Opening comments were made by Earl after introductions and a review of the council roster. Program area reports were provided by Judy Schmidt – 4-H and Youth Development, Matt Montgomery – Ag, Rhonda Ferree – Horticulture, Margaret Cover – EFNEP, Kathie Brown – Community and Economic Development, Mekenzie Lewis – Nutrition and Wellness.

Under new business, an election of officers was held. The officer slate consisted of Chair Nick Hayward, Vice-Chair Ryan Voorhees, Financial Reporter Norma St. Clair and Secretary Nancy Glick. The slate of officers was approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Debbie Yetter and seconded by Karla Smith to appoint the five council representatives from each county as county extension board representatives for each of their respective counties. The motion carried.

A motion was made by Sharon Spangler and seconded by Mike Endress to approve the following signatories for local account signature cards. Fulton-Earl Allen, Kathie Brown, Patty Wiegers and Janis Blout; Mason – Earl Allen, Rhonda Ferree, Julia Pryor, Joli Pierson; Peoria – Earl Allen, Margaret Cover, Judy Schmidt and Cathy Ludolph; and Tazewell – Earl Allen, Judy Schmidt, Anita Wilkinson and Mekenzie Lewis. The motion carried.

A motion was made by Andy Keyt and seconded by Nancy Glick to approve acquisition authority for County Extension Director Earl Allen granting him authority to expend Extension funds. The motion carried.

A motion was made by Karla Smith and seconded by Andy Keyt to approve the FY13 Holiday Office Closing Schedule which included being closed November 22 and 23, 2012 for Thanksgiving and December 26, 2012 - January 1, 2013 for Christmas. The motion carried.

In other business, The Council Meeting Schedule for the year was determined. There will be 4 meetings, one each in December, February, May and September. All are on Mondays starting at 6:30 p.m. The corresponding dates are December 10, 2012 and February 25, May 13 and September 9, 2013. The May meeting is the annual budget meeting. Additionally, local county extension board meetings will be held sometime in July or August in each county with council members attending in their respective county.

After discussing Council and Advisory Group operations, members decided to dissolve the County Advisory Groups, and instead allow extension educators to set up key informant groups for their subject matter area that would meet at least once per year. It was also decided to increase council members to five from each county with one or two alternates. A motion was made by Glen Knott and seconded by Sharon Spangler to this effect. The motion carried.

Fiscal and administrative updates were provided by Earl. The fiscal report included a discussion of the FY13 budget, recent local audits, and FY13 county levy requests. With regard to staffing, Earl talked about the recent hire of Mekenzie Lewis – Nutrition and Wellness Educator, transfer of Christine Belless to Master Naturalist/Ag Coordinator from 4-H Youth Coordinator, promotion of Joli Pierson from SNAP community worker to Mason County 4-H Youth Coordinator, and the pending departure of Matt Montgomery to take a job with Burrus Seed.

Earl announced that Dr. Hoeft would be visiting our unit on October 17 and 18. Council members would be notified of his itinerary when finalized.

There being no objections, the meeting was adjourned around 8:15 p.m.