Contact Us

University of Illinois Extension serving Fulton, Mason, Peoria and Tazewell Counties

Tazewell County
1505 Valle Vista Blvd
Pekin, IL 61554-6245
Phone: 309-347-6614
FAX: 309-347-5472
Hours: Monday-Friday 8 am to 4:30 pm (Closed Noon - 1 pm)

Fulton County
15411 N IL 100 Highway
Lewistown, IL 61542-9468
Phone: 309-547-3711
FAX: 309-547-3713
Hours: Monday-Friday 8 am to 4:30 pm (Closed Noon - 1 pm)

Mason County
127 S High St, Ste 1
Havana, IL 62644-1496
Phone: 309-543-3308
Hours: Monday-Friday 8 am to 4:30 pm (Closed Noon - 1 pm)

Peoria County
4810 North Sheridan Rd
Peoria, IL 61614-5928
Phone: 309-685-3140
FAX: 309-685-3397
Hours: Monday-Friday 8 am to 4:30 pm (Closed Noon - 1 pm)

Extension Meetings

Extension Council Meeting Minutes

Tuesday September 16, 2014 • 6:30 PM

This meeting has passed.

U of I Extension Unit #11: Fulton-Mason-Peoria-Tazewell

Extension Council Meeting

Tuesday, September 16, 2014


The Fulton-Mason-Peoria-Tazewell Extension Council met Tuesday, Sept. 16, 2014 at the Tazewell County Farm Bureau Building Auditorium in Pekin, IL . Members Present were Nancy Glick, Cindy Hoerbert, Kelvin Sampson, Nicole Forsberg, Dr. John Asplund, Mike Endress, Katelyn Pruitt, Pamela Rumba, James Harp, Nick Hayward, Sunita Shastry, and Sharon Spangler. Also present were Earl Allen, County Extension Director, Julia Pryor, Master Gardener Program Coordinator, and Anita Wilkinson, Unit Communications & 4-H Special Projects Coordinator. Members absent were Amanda Woodruff, Glenn Knott, Barb Knake, Debbie Yetter, Scott Lowery, Anne Sherbyn, Cindy Chaffin, Clara Gonzalez and Cody Zeeck.

Nick Hayward, Chairman, called the meeting to order at 6:30 p.m. Current members introduced themselves and recognition was given to outgoing members.

Minutes of the May 13, 2014 meeting were read and approved.

New Business included the following:

Election of officers – Vice-Chair – James Harp, Secretary Sharon Spangler, and Financial Reporter – Nancy Glick. Chairman will be elected at a later date.

Appointment of county extension board representatives (the representatives from each county will serve as the county extension board delegation for their county.) Motion made by Sharon Spangler and seconded by John Asplund. Motion carried.

Approval of signatories for local account signature cards was made by Nancy Glick and seconded by Katelyn Pruitt.

Fulton – Earl, Janis Blout, Patty Wiegers, Jason Haupt

Mason – Earl, Rhonda Ferree, Julia Pryor, Joli Pierson

Peoria – Earl, Margaret Cover, Judy Schmidt, Cathy Ludolph

Tazewell – Earl, Ginger Schnecker, Anita Wilkinson, Erin Barrow

Approval for Earl Allen to expend extension funds was made by Mike Endress, seconded by Sunita Shastry. Motion carried.

Motion was made by Katelyn Pruitt and seconded by James Harp to approve the Holiday Office Closing Schedule – Thanksgiving – November 27&28, 2014 and Christmas – December 24, 2014 – January 2, 2015.

Fiscal and Administrative Updates:

Earl reported that the FY14 and FY15 are in good financial shape. The local audit results were passed around and the State Office will do another one in Dec. Earl drafted an FY16 budget for use in levy request proceedings for the four county boards in the unit. Levy recommendations are now in the hands of county finance committees. Amounts requested in each county were as follows:

· Fulton – Levy request of $146,000 which included a 4% increase.

· Mason – requested full levy proceeds of $91,000.

· Tazewell – Levy request of $155,000 which included a 4% increase.

· Peoria – Levy request of $110,000; County project fund allocation of $5,000; and Township requests of $4,000.

Earl provided a staffing update

o Erin Barrow – Tazewell 4-H Program Coordinator started September 8, 2014.

o Anita Wilkinson is the new Unit Communications & 4-H Special Projects Coordinator for Unit 11.

o A new Unit SNAP-Ed Nutrition Educator will be hired in the next couple months

Earl demonstrated the use of the Mondopad, a combination 55" flat screen, multi-touch Windows PC with smart board and videoconferencing capability. A unit has been installed in the Tazewell County office and they will be installed in Fulton, Mason and Peoria Counties at a later date.

Julia Pryor, Master Gardener Program Coordinator and Anita Wilkinson, Communications & 4-H Special Projects Coordinator gave very interesting video presentations about their programs using the Mondopad.

A video presentation was also given about the 4G Stem (science, technology, engineering, and math) for 7th and 8th grade girls and coordinated by Kathy Brown and Judy Schmidt. Pamela Rumba, a teacher at Trewyn Middle School, also commented on the impact the Stem Camp had on some of her students.

Other Business included the approval for council meetings which will be Jan. 21, 2015 in two locations – Havana and Peoria using the video conference with mondopads. The April 2015 budget meeting will be April 21, 2015 – video conference at two locations – Pekin and Lewistown. July/August 2015 will be local individual county extension board meetings and the date for the new program year will be September 16, 2015.

The meeting was adjourned at 8:06 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Sharon Spangler

Sharon Spangler, Secretary